How to Change Your State Issued Identification
Change your State Issued Driver’s License or ID Card
Change your State Birth Certificate
Choose your state from the list below to get instructions for that state.
Alabama – Alaska – Arizona – Arkansas – California – Colorado – Connecticut – Delaware – Florida – Georgia – Hawaii – Idaho – Illinois – Indiana – Iowa – Kansas – Kentucky – Louisiana – Maine – Maryland – Massachusetts – Michigan – Minnesota – Mississippi – Missouri – Montana – Nebraska – Nevada – New Hampshire – New Jersey – New Mexico – New York – North Carolina – North Dakota – Ohio – Oklahoma – Oregon – Pennsylvania – Rhode Island – South Carolina – South Dakota – Tennessee – Texas – Utah – Vermont – Virginia – Washington State – West Virginia – Wisconsin – Wyoming – District of Columbia
To change the gender marker, you’ll need a letter from an attending physician who has knowledge of the success of the surgery. Changing the name on your driver’s license, permit or identification card requires either a “CERTIFIED document stating name change” or a “Document from Probate Judge certifying name change”. The current fee for a duplicate card is $18.
Alabama Birth Certificate Change
Alabama will issue an “amended” birth certificate noting change of name and sex, but will not issue a new birth certificate replacing the original.The fee to prepare an amended birth certificate is $15.00, which includes one certified copy. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $4.00 each.
You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change, as well as an original or certified copy of a COURT ORDER for change of sex (not just the surgeon’s letter). This enters another step into the procedure and is best handled through an attorney, although at extra cost. You must file a “petition to amend a vital record,” state what you want to amend, provide documentation of the reason for your petition, and name the Center for Health Statistics as defendant.
This is the actual portion from the Alabama Vital Statistics Law which deals with gender reassignment:
§ 22-9A-19(d): “Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order of a court of competent jurisdiction indicating that the sex of an individual born in this state has been changed by surgical procedure and that the name of the individual has been changed, the certificate of birth of the individual shall be amended as prescribed by rules to reflect the changes.”On the positive side, if you live in another state they will accept the court order from that state, if issued from “a court of competent jurisdiction” (court with authority to issue such orders in that particular county or state). The fee for the court order is a separate fee, and varies from one court to another.Contact information:
State Board of Health
Center for Health Statistics
P.O. Box 5625
Montgomery, AL 36103-5625
(334) 206-5418; (334) 206-5426
Ms. Dorothy S. Harshbarger
State Registrar and Director
In order to change your name on your driver’s license, permit or state identification card, you must submit a certified copy (in person) to the DMV office. The following items are acceptable to use for a name change:
- Marriage Certificate (Must be from Vital Statistics)
- Certificate of Dissolution, Divorce or Annulment (Issued by the Court System) This document must specifically state what the name is being restored to.
- Court Order
Currently the state is not permitting applicants to change the sex on their driver’s license pending the outcome of ongoing litigation. The Division of Motorcycles is drafting new regulations regarding the process for change of sex on identification. You will be required to pass a vision test and pay the current fee ($15) for a duplicate card.
Alaska Birth Certificate Change
Alaska will issue an amended birth certificate noting change of name and sex. You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for the name change, and an original or certified copy of the letter from your SRS surgeon.
Mr. Alfred G. Zangri
Chief, Health Research and Vital Statistics
Department of Health and Social Services
To change the gender marker, requires a letter from a doctor stating that the applicant is irrevocably committed to having GRS.
After a legal name change, you are required by law to notify MVD within 10 days. The MVD is required to verify your Social Security Number before your record can be updated, therefore you must first contact the Social Security Administration to change your name on their records. After you have changed your name with SSA, wait two days for their computer system to be updated. You should then visit an MVD office to present identification in both your new and previous names. This must be an original or certified copy (must be certified by the issuing agency) of one of the following: Marriage Certificate/License, Divorce Decree, Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization or a court order. The fee for a duplicate license is $4.
Arizona Birth Certificate Change
Arizona will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. The original certificate is “closed” to further inspection.
As of 2011, the fee for the change process is $301.00.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. IMPORTANT: The court order must specifically state “the name may be changed on the Arizona birth certificate.”
Office of Vital Records
Arizona Dept. of Health Services
P.O. Box 3887
Phoenix, AZ 85030-3887
Fax: (602) 249-3040
Ms. Renee Gaudino
Administrator and Assistant State Registrar
Arizona Department of Health Services
A court order is an alternate method to change the gender marker. In order to change the name on your driver’s license or identification card, requires presentation of the current driver’s license along with a certified copy of your name change court order. The current fee for a duplicate card is $10.
Arkansas Birth Certificate Change
Arkansas will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate if the court order so specifies. The request for the court order must include medical documentation (letter from SRS surgeon).
Arkansas Department of Health
Division of Vital Records
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock AR 72205
To change the gender marker, requires that form DL-328, (Medical Information Authorization) be filled out and signed by a licensed physician or psychologist, certifying the applicant’s gender identification, disposition and whether the gender change is transitional or complete.
If the change is due to transition, a new copy of DL-328 must be submitted for each driver license or identification card renewal, or upon any card issuance when the date of application (for a renewed card) is more than five years after the physician certification date. (in the DL-328 form) If a new form DL-328 is not submitted as specified, the original gender marker will be restored.
To apply for a name change you will need to:
- Visit a DMV office (make an Appointment for faster service)
- Complete a Driver License or Identification Card Application form DL 44 or DL 44C. (Copies will not be accepted.)
- Give a thumb print
- Have your picture taken
- Pay the application fee ($22, No fee for a senior citizen ID card)
Acceptable evidence of your new name may be provided by showing an original or certified copy of a Birth Date/Legal Presence document or a true full name document. Examples of a “true full name document” include:
- Adoption documents that contain the legal name as a result of the adoption.
- A name change document that contains the legal name both before and after the name change.
- Marriage certificate (issued from a local or state Office of Vital Statistics).
- A certificate, declaration, or registration document verifying the formation of a domestic partnership.
- Dissolution of marriage document that contains the legal name as a result of the court action.
- A completed Medical Information Authorization form (DL 328) in conjunction with a gender change.
This document must be issued by a government agency within the United States or a foreign jurisdiction that is authorized to issue such documents. The document must be a legible and unaltered original or certified copy with a government seal, stamp or other official imprint. You will need to surrender your current driver license and/or ID card.
California Birth Certificate Change
California will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. California Health and Safety Code, Section 103425-103445, states: “A petition for the issuance of a new birth certificate in those cases shall be filed with the superior court of the county where the petitioner resides.”
The State Office of Vital Records has made a Web link with a PDF document detailing the procedure for obtaining a new birth certificate after “gender reassignment”. The link is:
There is also a phone number for information on this procedure:
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and a certified copy [not the original!] of the court order for your name change. If you do not have a court order for your name change, you may petition the court for change of name at the same time you petition for the new birth certificate. You will need a complete VS-24 form, which can be obtained from the State Office of Vital Records. A photocopy of this form is not sufficient.
A fee of $20 includes one copy of the new Birth Certificate; additional copies are $14 each.
State Registrar and Chief
Center for Health Statistics
Colorado State ID Change
In order to change your name on your driver’s license or identification card, requires showing proof of identity, age, name, (as well as legal name change) and “lawful presence”. The current fee for a duplicate card is $21 for a driver’s license and $10.50 for an identification card.
Colorado Birth Certificate Change
Colorado will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
In order to change the name and gender for a person born in Colorado, we need a certified copy of a legal name change and the judge ordering us to change the birth certificate because of gender reassignment. Once the surgery has been completed and you have the court order, we need a notarized letter or our correction form (website-www.cdphe.state.co.us) and $20.00 to correct the certificate, $15.00 for one copy of the birth certificate and $6.00 for each additional copies.
Jake J. Salazar
Birth Correction Specialist
Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Phone – 303-692-2226
Fax – 1-877-785-1434
Email – Jake.Salazar@state.co.us
Our Website – www.cdphe.state.co.us/certs/index.html
Online Credit Card Orders: www.vitalchek.com
Credit Card Orders via phone: 1-866-300-8540
Changing the gender marker in Connecticut requires a letter from a doctor stating that genital realignment surgery has been performed, or a letter from a health care provider attesting that the applicant is in active treatment and is living full time in the target gender according to the Standards of Care. In order to change your name on your driver’s license or identification card, requires your current driver’s license along with a certified copy of your name change court order. A new license will be issued at no cost, indicating the new name.
Connecticut Birth Certificate Change
To change your name you need to get a Probate Court order for the name change and take it to to the town clerk of the town where you were born. They will AMEND your Birth Certificate.
To change your gender you must contact the Vital Records office in the State Department of Health in Hartford. You can contact Maria Colon at:
or email at:
They will send you two affidavits you must have completed and NOTARIZED. One affidavit is for a therapist to confirm your female identity and the other is for the SRS surgeon to confirm you had SRS. If you had SRS outside the United States, you’ll have to get an affidavit from a US Doctor confirming that SRS was done.
To change the gender marker, requires a physician’s letter stating that the applicant is in active treatment.
Within 30 days after legally changing your name, you must personally go to an office of the DMV to change the name on your license. Bring in your old driver’s license and the marriage certificate or court document as evidence of the name change. The Division will issue you a new license for $1.15.
The DMV verifies Social Security numbers by matching Delaware driver license records with the records of the SSA. For this reason, your name change must be processed with the SSA prior to changing the name on your Delaware driver license. After you change the information with the SSA, please allow 72 hours before visiting DMV. If during the verification process, the SSA reports to us that your name, date of birth and/or social security number does not match with the information on the document as evidence of a name change, DMV may not process the name change on your driver license or identification card.
Delaware Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Mr. Michael L. Richards
Office of Vital Statistics
A name change may be handled at any driver license office by presenting an original or certified court order, the incorrect license and paying the $10 fee. A new license will be issued which can also include an address change. Proof of citizenship or legal presence may be required for renewal, duplicate or replacement licenses. Florida requires proof of surgery in order to change the gender marker.
UPDATE: As of November 2, 2010 SRS is no longer required, a letter from a medical doctor stating “clinical treatment” is required. The new policy is similar to the first change in the passport policy from June 2010 – further revision may occur.
Florida Birth Certificate Change
(1) the court order for a name change must be effected first – and the person should choose a clearly female name, e.g., don’t change your name to Pat, Dana, Frances/Francis, Meredith or any other name that could be construed as a male name.
(2) the birth certificate must be amended to reflect the new, clearly female name.
(3) After the birth certificate has been amended to reflect the new “clearly female” name, then you can apply to change the gender based on the fact that the gender is clearly in conflict with the name. You should include an affidavit from the physician who performed operation and who will state that you are female.
Office of Vital Statistics
Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
(904) 359-6900 ext. 9005.
A court order is an alternate method to change the gender marker. In order to change your name, you must present a certified copy of a court ordered name change. A new license will be issued at no cost, indicating the new name. The replacement license will be valid for the current renewal period, or if it’s within 150 days of the original expiration date, you may renew your license for five years ($20.00) or ten years ($35.00). Certain vision requirements apply.
Georgia Birth Certificate Change
Vital Records Service
State Dept. of Human Resources
47 Trinity Avenue SW, Room 217-H
Atlanta, GA 30334
Mr. Michael R. Lavoie
Director, Vital Records Unit
Please contact the Legal Section of the Vital Records office (404-656-4901) and ask for instructions for correcting a vital record.
In order to change your name and/or gender marker on your driver’s license or identification card, requires one of the following:
- Naturalization Certificate.
- Decree by the Hawaii Lt. Governor’s Office
- Divorce Decree with name change listed
- Hawaii Marriage Certificate (Dept. of Health Document Only)
- Out-of-State Marriage Certificates (State issued with Seal)
- Certified statement by physician stating sex change is valid
The current fee for a duplicate card is $4.
Hawaii Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original or certified copy of the letter from your SRS surgeon. A court order is not required.
Alvin T. Onaka, Ph.D.
State Registrar and Acting Chief
Office of Health Status Monitoring
To change the gender marker, the DMV requires a letter from your therapist or doctor to verify that you are living full-time in the correct gender and undergoing treatment.
In order to change your name, you must present a certified copy of a court ordered name change. The current fee for a duplicate driver’s license is $11.50. For an ID card, it is:
|Under age 18||$6.50|
|Age 18 to 21||$6.50|
|4-year renewal (age 21 and over)||$7.50|
|8-year renewal (age 21 and over)||$15.00|
Idaho Birth Certificate Change
Idaho does NOT change sex on the birth certificate. A bill to permit the changes was rejected by the Idaho legislature. Idaho will, however, change the name on the birth certificate. Details on how to accomplish this can be found at the state site: http://www2.state.id.us/dhw/vital_stats/appmenu.html
To change the gender marker, requires a report from a medical clinic to indicate that genital realignment surgery has taken place or the applicant is in the process of undergoing treatment, however a court order is preferred.
Within 10 days of changing your name or address, you are required by law to notify the Secretary of State of the change. If you change your name, you must obtain a corrected driver’s license, corrected title, and corrected registration ID card before the Secretary of State records can be changed. A corrected driver’s license must be obtained at a driver services facility. You will be required to show identification with your new name and identification that links your old and new names. Vehicle registration forms may also be completed at the driver services facility, or these forms can be mailed to you.
The current fee for a corrected card is $5 for a driver’s license and $10 for an identification card.
Illinois Birth Certificate Change
First you should follow the instructions on their website:
This definitely appears to be the easiest way to start the process.
Or you may write to the following address:
Department of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
605 W. Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62702
Ask them to fax you what you need to get signed by the doctor and notarized, top and bottom (see below). Make sure you specify name and sex aka gender change form. They can also mail it to you snail mail; but it is easier to get it faxed then signed, notarized, and send in your fifteen dollars for one copy, two dollars for each one after that.
A third alternative is to call 217.782.6554 and ask for Vital Records, then ask for the birth certificate change department. My correspondents don’t recommend the telephone contact because some persons in the office have been less than helpful on the phone.
and ask for a “request for change of name and sex form.”
This form has two parts. The top is “affidavit by physician as to change of sex designation.” If you get the form before SRS, you can ask your surgeon to fill it out and get it notarized. Otherwise you can send a separate notarized letter from the surgeon as usual. The bottom part is “affidavit by parent, guardian, or applicant, if of legal age.” That part is obvious except for the line:
“THAT the following were the personal particulars at the time of birth of_____________ ” Complete this line using “John Doe, now Jane Doe” or the opposite as indicated.
Complete this form and return it to this address:
Department of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
605 W. Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62702
IMPORTANT: Send it by Priority Mail!
Include the original letter from your SRS surgeon (unless the surgeon complete the top part of the form as above) and a certified copy of the name change order, and a check for $15.00 made out to “Vital Records”. Additional copies are $2.00 each.
To change the gender marker, requires a physician’s letter stating that genital realignment surgery has been performed, or that the applicant is in active treatment and is living full time according to the Standards of Care. Be prepared to deal with representatives who don’t know the BMV’s policies in this area. (See this article by Bree Hartlage for more information.)
The holder of a driver’s license, identification card or permit must notify the BMV of a change of name and apply for an amended license, identification card or permit within 30 days of the name change.
Before visiting a license branch to change the name on your driver’s license, identification card, or permit, you must first notify the Social Security Administration (SSA) of the change in your name by visiting a SSA office.
A name change must be completed at a BMV license branch. You may bring a certified court decree issuing the change of name to a license branch. The current fee for a amended card is $10 for a driver’s license and $13 for an identification card.
Indiana Birth Certificate Change
Send a check for $10 made out to ISDH for new birth certificate.
Indiana will issue a new certificate, not amend the old one. Old record will be sealed.
Send copy of old birth certificate and an original court order to change name and gender.
Indiana still requires a court order to change the gender on a birth certificate.
Mary Keltner (Mary K)
Corrections Supervisor at the Division of Vital Statistics
Indiana State Department of Health
2 N. Meridian Street Section B4
Indianapolis IN 46204
To change the gender marker, requires either a certified copy of an amended birth certificate, or a court order.
Changing your name on an Iowa driver’s license or ID must be done in person at any Iowa driver’s license station. There is a $1 charge. Applicants must provide proof of any name change. Photocopies and faxes of documents will NOT be accepted. Acceptable items are:
- Court-ordered name change containing full name, date of birth and court seal.
- Divorce decree stipulating name change.
- Original or certified copy of a marriage license or certificate.
The current fee for a duplicate card due to name change, is $3.
Iowa Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Ms. Jill France
Chief, Bureau of Vital Records
Iowa Department of Public Health
Kansas is ambiguous to the documentation requirements to change the gender marker. The holder of a driver’s license, identification card or permit must notify the DMV of a change of name and apply for an amended license, identification card or permit within 10 days of the name change. You may bring a certified court decree issuing the change of name to a license branch.
Kansas Birth Certificate Change
Affidavit from applicant documenting dressing and living as new gender; documentation of hormone treatment and surgery (“physiological and hormonal change”).
Note: taking hormones without surgery does not qualify. Breast surgery (mastectomy) does not qualify; genital surgery is required.
The cost is $15 for amending the certificate and another $15 for each certified copy.
Elizabeth W. Saadi, Ph.D.
State Registrar and Director
Center for Health and Environmental Statistics
See the Web site: http://www.kdheks.gov/vital/amend_birth_adults.html
Any time you change a name or address you must get a duplicate license at your Circuit Court Clerk’s office within 10 days. Proof of residency in Kentucky and legal name change is required.
(ie. Birth Certificate, Name Change Court Order, Marriage License, Divorce Decree, or other legal document)
The cost of a duplicate is $12.
Kentucky Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. Please note that current interpretation (2005) of Kentucky law requires a notarized letter from your SRS surgeon, which can be difficult if your surgery was performed in the past or in another country.
Office of Vital Statistics
275 East Main Street 1E-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
If your name has changed, you must go to the Office of Motor Vehicles with your current license, original legal documentation that supports the name change (i.e., certified birth certificate, state certified marriage license, divorce decree, probate court documents, etc.), and proof of insurance if you own an automobile. You will be required to take and pass a vision test. The fee for this service is $16.
Louisiana Birth Certificate Change
According to the Louisiana Department of Public Health/Vital Records Registry, a person born in Louisiana may change their name and gender on their birth certificate pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statute (RS) 40:62, which can be found here:
The statute allows a person to change their gender if they have “sustained sex reassignment or corrective surgery which has changed the anatomical structure of the sex of the individual to that of a sex other than that which appears on the original birth certificate.” RS 40:62(A)
The state website does not, at the time this article was made, contain sufficient information for the purpose of this article. Please contact your local DMV office for more information. There is a $5.00 fee for a duplicate license/identification card.
Maine Birth Certificate Change
The details are listed under ‘department rules’ for the Department of Health and Human Services,
on their website, here: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/10/chaps10.htm under Office of Data, Research, and Vital Statistics.
Specifically Chapter 2 can be downloaded as a Word document here: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/10/146/146c002.doc .
To change the gender marker, requires an applicant must provide a physician or psychologist’s report to confirm that the applicant is in active treatment. The MVA decides whether to authorize the change, and requires annual re-evaluations until the applicant “meets requirements for permanent gender change.”
Under proposal, is to change the regulation so that an updated birth certificate will be required to change the gender marker, doing so will demand that some sort of reassignment surgery to have been completed. The implementation of this policy change, which was intended to take effect January 1st, 2010, has been delayed to an unspecified date.
If you are using a name other than your birth name, you must bring the document that initiated the change of name, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court name change order and your current License.
- You must pass a vision test or submit a Vision Screening form.
- You will be required to disclose your social security number. Applicants not eligible for a social security number will be required to provide a self-certification.
The current fee for a corrected card is: $30 for a driver’s license ($20 if you are under 21 years of age) and $20 for an identification card. ($10 if you are under 16 years of age)
Maryland Birth Certificate Change
In order for the Division of Vital Records to change your sex and name on your birth certificate, we require a Court Order indicating that both your name and sex are to be changed. You can most likely obtain an amended Court Order to indicate the correct sex along with your new name. We cannot change the sex on a birth certificate with just a Physicians letter.
[The amended birth certificate does not retain any reference to the original.]
Once you obtain this information, send True Test Copy or Original Court Order to my attention at the Division of Vital Records, P.O. Box 68760, Baltimore, Md. 21215-0020 c/o Birth Section Chief. (410)764-3145.
For the State of Maryland there is a Fee of $12.00 for any change made on a birth certificate if the person is over one year of age/ for an adoption/ paternity name change/ court order name change or gender change. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Division of Vital Records.
To change the gender marker, requires an updated application, along with a completed Gender Designation Change Form; containing a statement from a medical provider attesting to the gender that the individual considers himself or herself to be, after which is signed by the applicant.
After a legal name change, you must update your Social Security records before going to your local RMV office. You will need your social security card with your new name, a completed License and ID Update Form, and $20 to have the amended license/id issued.
Massachusetts Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The letter from the surgeon must use the word “completed,” not just “performed.”
Registry of Vital Records
150 Mount Vernon St.
Note: in Massachusetts, people can change names free of charge if they are “indigent.” One is considered indigent if one is accessing government programs such as MassHealth, food stamps, SSI, SSDI, Section 8 housing, etc. One can also submit a form demonstrating inability to pay. The Commonwealth waves fees for these folks. This is a legal name change, not a birth certificate change.
To change the gender marker, requires the applicant complete a TR-34 Certification form stating their wish to change gender on their driver license. The following statement is adequate: “I (name) wish to change the gender (or sex) on my Michigan driver license.” It is possible that the applicant will need to provide an original doctor’s statement or court order that certifies that the applicant has completed the medical treatments necessary to change their gender.
In order to change name on your DL/ID card, you must go to a Secretary of State Branch Office to process the correction. Required, is your valid driver’s license or personal ID card and proof of the name change, such as a certified marriage license, divorce decree, or a legal name change document. A fee will be charged to correct your name and a new photograph will be taken. If your driver’s license is due to expire, you may choose to renew your driver’s license early. The current fee for a corrected card is $9 for a driver’s license and $10 for an identification card.
Michigan Birth Certificate Change
To alter a birth record, Michigan requires a standard form available on the website:
You may download this PDF by right-clicking (Windows) or control-clicking (Mac).
Minnesota state law requires DMV agents to provide those asking to change gender on their licenses with a “Variance Request” form. A medical statement that the applicant is in active treatment is required to complete it. Note: the DMV has been known to delay processing of the “Variance Request.” A link to this form is available here: http://www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs/ID%20Requirments/PetitionForAVarianceResidency.pdf The completed form is sent to the Department of Public Safety central office in St Paul.
After a name change, you must apply for a duplicate license along with proof of your name change. If you have not been issued a new driver’s license/ID card number yet, you will receive one at this time. If you have already been issued a new number, the new number will not change. The current fee for a duplicate card is $13.50.
Minnesota Birth Certificate Change
There are essentially 2 ways to amend a birth record. Method one is to provide 2 documents per item being amended that were established at least 7 years ago or more which show the information the way your want it to appear on the birth record. Method two is to provide a court order which specifically directs the birth record be amended for the specific items that are desired to be changed. For either the cost is $20 to amend the record.
Mr. Kim W. Jeppesen
Records Management Unit
Office of State Registrar
Center for Health Statistics
Phone: (612) 676-5128
FAX: (612) 676-5667
If you have legally changed your name (by marriage, divorce, court order, etc.) you must provide the following documents:
- A State issued certified marriage license
- A certified copy of a court order
- A certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage
- An original certificate of naturalization
The current fee for a duplicate card is $5.
To change the gender marker, a court order for gender marker change or an amended birth certificate is required. A physician’s letter should not be necessary. The fee is the same as a name change. A new picture will be taken as well.
Mississippi Birth Certificate Change
Mississippi will NOT issue a new birth certificate. If a court order is received, Mississippi will issue an amended birth certificate with the new name and gender typed in the margin, but the old name and gender remain unchanged.
State Department of Health
571 Stadium Drive
Jackson, MS 39216
Fax: (601) 576-7505
A name change must be completed at a BMV license branch. Examples of evidence to support legal name change include:
- Marriage certificate
- Court ordered documents (divorce decree, legal name change, etc.)
- Updated Social Security Card with your new name on it
The cost of a duplicate is shown here. http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/drivers/license.htm
Missouri Birth Certificate Change
There must be two separate court orders, one for the name change and one for the gender change, and the court orders must SPECIFICALLY name the Missouri Bureau of Vital Records and specifically order them to make the changes. Court orders that do not specifically order the Missouri Bureau of Vital Records to make these changes will not be accepted. The order can come from a court in another state as long as it specifies the MISSOURI Bureau of Vital Records.
Checks can be made to:
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Bureau of Vital Records
PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
To change the gender marker, requires an applicant must provide a physician’s letter stating that the applicant is in active treatment. Upon renewal, follow-up documentation is needed “to see that transition has been completed.”
Applications for name change must be supported by a certified copy of one of the following documents:
- a marriage certificate from the issuing government jurisdiction
- a decree or judgment granting a name change from a court of competent jurisdiction
- a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage specifying change of name
- a U.S. department of justice, immigration and naturalization service, certificate of naturalization (form N-550, N-570) issued to the applicant
- a declaration of marriage filed with the district court clerk where the declaration was made
Upon payment of the required fees and providing proof of name change documentation, an applicant may also apply for a duplicate driver’s license in the legally changed name. The current fee for a duplicate card is $10 for a driver’s license and $8 for an identification card.
Montana Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Debra M. Fulton
Acting State Registrar and Acting Chief
Bureau of Vital Statistics
If your name or address changes, you must apply for a replacement license or ID card within 60 days of such change. See the form linked here for more detailed instructions, and for how much the replacement card will cost.
Nebraska Birth Certificate Change
Also this form will need to be printed and completed, to send in with your documents:
Stanley S. Cooper, M.S., Ph.D.
Health Records Mangement Section
If you are legally changing your name because of marriage, divorce or a court-approved legal name change, you must visit a DMV Office to have a new driver license issued.
Bring your current license and the original legal documents which authorize the change. The court documents must be originals or certified copies.
In order to change the gender marker one has a licensed physician assert to the applicants gender identity, and that said person is undergoing medical treatment. The form, DLD 136, is linked here.
The fee is $8 for a license and $7 for an identification card.
Nevada Birth Certificate Change
Bureau Chief, Health Planning and Statistics
Office of Vital Records
- Name change petition from the court of Probate
- Marriage certificate, civil union certificate or its equivalent
- Divorce decree
- Adoption decree
- Court degree
Your picture will be taken, and your new signature captured on the replacement license. There is no charge.
New Hampshire Birth Certificate Change
New Hampshire requires a document of a court-ordered legal sex change….just a surgeon’s letter is not enough. They made this change in Nov 2001.
NH State Vital Records Code 7007.03(e)
“Upon receipt of a court order advising that such individual born in the state of New Hampshire has had a sex change, a new birth record shall be prepared in accordance with He-P 7007.02 to reflect such change.”
You will also need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Ms. Karen Grady
State Registrar and Chief
Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
To change the gender marker, requires the signed statement of a so called “gender specialist.” In theory, the affidavit of any licensed therapist operating in the state should be sufficient as backing for the request. (see the form for more information)
The state website does not, at the time this article was made, contain sufficient information for the purpose of name change. Please contact your local DMV office for more information. The current fee for a duplicate card is $18.
New Jersey Birth Certificate Change
New Jersey will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
Changes such as we require are handled by the Modification Unit and are accepted ONLY by mail. YOU CAN NOT DO THIS IN PERSON AS BEFORE.
Along with the letter requesting the change you must submit the following:
Application fee of $27.00 US in the form of Personal Check or MO made out to New Jersey State Treasurer.
A seal copy of the court order of the name change.
A NOTARIZED Copy of the Surgeon’s Letter.
Your original birth information. It can be hand written including Date, Place (Municipality), Parents. ( Or it may be a copy of a Birth Certificate.)
Return Address and Phone number.
New Jersey Department of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 370
Attn: Modifications Unit
In order to change the gender marker, one submits a MVD form signed by a medical provider or clinician stating more or less, that the applicant’s gender identity is stable and not subject to change.
The form is available on the internet.
New Mexico Birth Certificate Change
New Mexico will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. The old information will be “sealed” and cannot be opened without a court order.
You will also need this Birth Search Application form completed : http://www.vitalrecordsnm.org/Forms/birthsearchapp.pdf
This can be found on their website www.vitalrecordsnm.org under the birth certificate hyperlink.
The fees are $10.00 for changing the information, and another $10.00 for a new certificate.
Vital Records and Health Statistics Bureau
1105 St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503
Phone: (505) 827 – 0121 or 827 – 2338
FAX: (505) 827 – 1751
To change the gender marker, requires a written statement from a physician, a psychologist, or a psychiatrist that is printed on letterhead. The statement must certify that one gender is your main gender. Procedure 4335 is the applicable section of the regulations.
In order to change your name on your driver’s license or identification card, you must visit a local DMV office.
- Bring your NYS DMV photo document or other proof of identity that displays your previous name and has a value of at least six points.
- Bring a US marriage certificate, US divorce documents, or other court papers issued in the US that prove your new name. Or, you can bring proof of identity that displays your new name and has a value of at least six points.
- To change your name on a registration document and a title certificate, you must bring the registration document and the title certificate that display your previous name.
New York Birth Certificate Change
New York City has its own separate Bureau of Vital Statistics. New York City will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need:
An original or certified court order for name change. This order must have the name given at birth and the new name to be used, and include your complete date of birth.
A copy of current valid photo identification.
A payment of $15.00 is required for a certified copy of the birth certificate, and a payment of $40.00 is required for the amendment, for a total of $55.00, payable to the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. If you purchased a birth certificddate within the past three months, you may provide the birth certificate instead of the $15.00 certified copy fee.
Documents that prove that you had convertive surgery. In order for the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH) to determine that a person has had convertive surgery, DOHMH looks for information such as: 1) when the surgery was performed; 2) who performed the surgery; 3) the medically-specific details of the trans-surgeries and reconstructive surgeries performed, including the specific types of surgery performed (for example, penectomy, orchiectomy, vaginoplasty, hysterectomy, and/or phalloplasty); 4) a signed statement or report from the surgeon who performed the surgery providing that the surgery was actually performed and successfully completed; and 5) documentation from a psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, or other licensed mental health professional confirming that transition to the acquired sex is complete.
Please note that a letter/affidavit from a doctor simply stating that you have had convertive surgery is not sufficient to prove you had convertive surgery. As provided in DOHMH’s instruction letter, the following documents are examples of what have been found to be useful and sufficient to demonstrate that convertive surgery has been performed and that one’s transition is complete and permanent:
Original or certified copies of Surgical Operative reports: These should include the medically-specific details of all trans-surgeries and reconstructive surgeries, their dates and signatures of the surgeons.
Post-operative examination: This report should document that the surgical change of sex was completed; it should be signed by a physician.
Post-operative psychiatric evaluation: The letter should indicate that the transition to the acquired sex is complete and be signed by a psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, or other licensed mental health professional.
Also people now can apply for a court ordered gender change in NYC if they feel that they do not want SRS or will be unable to have it, but are living full time in their new gender. The new birth certificate will list the new name but will not have a listing for sex at all. That section is simply omitted.
Edna Timbers, Deputy Director, NYC Depatment of Health
New York State
See the 2006 update on the Transsexual Road Map site:
New York State will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate.
New York requires more documentation than most states. You must first complete an application which can be obtained from the following address:
State of New York
Department of Health, Vital Records Section
Empire State Plaza
Albany NY 12237
Return the completed application, with fees as indicated on the application, and the following documents (all “original or certified copy”):
– the court order for name change, bearing the court seal, certified by the clerk of the court. Certified proof of publication is also required. The court order must include original name, date and place of birth.
– the letter from your SRS surgeon, specifying date, place, and type of procedure
– the actual OPERATIVE REPORT from your SRS
– a letter from your primary therapist “documenting true transsexualism or inappropriate sexual identification.”
– a letter from your endocrinologist or other medical physician “concerning hormonal, chromosomal or endocrinological information.”
Once these documents are received, a “medical review” will be performed, and your new certificate issued. Processing takes approximately three months. One certified copy will be provided following the amendment; any additional copies are $15.00 each.
Mr. Peter Carucci
Vital Records Section
The state website does not, at this time, contain sufficient information for the purpose of this article. Please contact your local DMV office for more information. There is a $10 fee for a duplicate license/identification card.
North Carolina Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original notarized letter from your SRS surgeon, and a certified copy of the court order for your name change. The processing fee for the preparation of a new birth certificate is $15.00. There is an additional $15.00 to obtain one certified copy of the new record. Each additional copy is $5.00.
See Statute 130A-118:
Ms. Vickie Pearce
Assistant State Registrar
State Center for Health and Environmental Statistics, DEHNR
A court order or government issued marriage certificate is required for a name change. Several documents may be necessary in the event there has been more than one name change since birth. For a full list of Acceptable Forms of Identification, and fees, go to: http://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/dlts/dlinfo.htm#ID
All applications for permit, license, or identification card must contain a social security number. The social security number will be verified with the Social Security Administration. However, the social security number will not be used as the driver license or identification card number. Therefore, changing your Social Security record is recommended before correcting your drivers license or ID card. The current fee for a duplicate card due to name change, is $3.
North Dakota Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for the name change, and an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
Mrs. Beverly R. Wittman
Deputy State Registrar for Vital Statistics and Director
Division of Vital Records
Ohio, as of September 2009, has changed its policy on gender change and no longer requires a statement of surgical changes.
A new form, “Declaration of Gender Change“, requires a signed statement from a physician or licensed therapist that the applicant is undergoing “gender change” in accordance with the Standards of Care. The exact text used is “It has been determined this individual is sufficiently ready for, or has completed gender role transition, and it is intended for this role change to be permanent. This transition may or may not lead to further surgical intervention.”
The forum is available by calling the main office of the Ohio BMV. (614-752-7500) This process will need to be repeated each time the license is renewed until transition is complete. Once the forum is completed, it is mailed, or faxed to the BMV.
Attn: License Control
P.O. Box 16784
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6784
A notification of change will be mailed to you, which is then taken to your local BMV office to get a new license issued. The old license must be surrendered. The cost is the same as a duplicate license.
After a legal name change, you will need to take your drivers license, certified name change court order, and current Social Security card into a Deputy Registrar’s office and purchase a new license with the name change. Changing your Social Security record is recommended before correcting your drivers license or ID card. The fee for a duplicate license is $19.50.
Ohio Birth Certificate Change
Ohio will NOT change sex on the birth certificate. There was some question whether Ohio will even change the name, but latest information reveals that name change can be done through the Division of Vital Records with a court order. This, however, does not amend the original birth certificate. An “abstract copy” will be created with a court order, and if you request by name this “abstract copy” you will receive an attached statement with your new name.
You may, however, be able to have the sex designation on your Ohio driver’s license changed. See link below, thanks to TransOhio and Equality Ohio:
Changing the gender marker requires a notarized statement on letterhead from the physician who performed the surgery. The letter must state the surgery is irreversible and permanent.
To correct your license the following must be presented:
- Finger image comparison, if a finger-print image is already on file
- A valid Proof of Identity document
- A certified copy of your name change court order
Oklahoma Birth Certificate Change
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
Information as of 2007 is that Oklahoma issues a two page certificate, with the “amendment” page on top, and the original page unamended on the bottom.
What you need to send:
1. Notarized statement from the SRS physician who completed the SRS surgery
2. Court order for your name change. If you already have one send that. If you don’t, you must get one from the court of your current state of residence.
3. $40 for 1st amended certificate, $15 for each additional.
4. Photocopy of a government issued ID (passport, driver’s license, etc.)
5. Cover letter to the Oklahoma Office of Vital Records stating that you want to amend your birth certificate, specifying what the amended parts should be. Also include your full name at birth, date of birth, city/county, father’s full name, mother’s full maiden name. Sign the letter.
OK State Dept of Health
Vital Records Division
1000 NE 10th St
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
To change the gender marker, needs a letter from a state recognized gender therapist stating the applicant is living full-time in the target gender. In the “worst case” to change said marker, a court order backed by a physician’s letter stating that genital realignment surgery has been performed will be needed.
A name change can be part of an original, renewal or replacement transaction for a driver license, driver permit or identification card. You will need to visit a DMV Office in person, and will be asked to:
- Provide proof of your Full Legal Name;
- Provide proof of your Legal Presence in U.S., Identity and Date of Birth;
- Provide proof of your Social Security Number; and
- Pay any applicable fees.
See http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/dv/chgname.shtml for more information on acceptable documents.
Oregon Birth Certificate Change
Contact Oregon Vital Records at this link.
The telephone contact is (971) 673-1137.
Send a copy of the name change court order and the court order for gender change (these will not be returned to you) along with $50 to:
Oregon Vital Records
PO Box 14050
Portland, OR 97293-0050
New regulations (to change gender marker) removed the requirement for genital surgery in lieu of a (signed) statement by a licensed medical or mental health professional stating that (you) are receiving treatment and have been diagnosed with GID and are living full-time as your chosen gender role. The form for this is not on the DMV web site at time of editing.
After a legal name change, the form to fill out will vary depending on what form of license of ID card you have.
If your name has been changed by permission of the court, you will need to attach a Certified Copy of the Court Order. If you desire to use any name other than 1) your birth name, 2) spouse’s surname or 3) a name given by the court, you must provide a copy of a Social Security Card (or records), together with copies of documents from two other sources with the desired name such as: Tax Records, Selective Services Card, Voter Registration Card, Passport or any form of Photo ID issued by a governmental agency. You will be issued a new card without cost.
Pennsylvania Birth Certificate Change
Pennsylvania will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate with no mention of being amended. The original birth certificate is amended and “sealed” so that it is unavailable to the public.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The fee is $10.00, but there is no fee for military veterans.
Mail to this address:
Vital Records, Corrections Unit
101 S. Mercer St.
New Castle, PA 16101
With your materials, include your date and county of birth. “Please send the certified court order change of name as well as your incorrect birth certificate. We also need a letter from your doctor stating sex reassignment surgery has occurred and you are now functioning in the newly assigned gender.”
To change the name on your license, you are required to change your name with Social Security first. Please allow at least 24 hours (or more) after notifying the SSA before changing your name with the DMV. If the name change is not in the Social Security system, the DMV cannot process your name change on your license. You must then appear in person at any DMV branch office during regular business hours, and bring the following documents:
- Your current RI license
- One document showing your correct name, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree.
The DMV will also accept a notarized affidavit stating the change of name. This affidavit is available in any DMV branch and must be signed by you and notarized. Along with this affidavit, you must provide the DMV with two documents evidencing the new name, such as a Social Security card, a valid voter registration card, or current U.S. passport. The fee to change any information on a license is 6.50
Rhode Island Birth Certificate Change
You will need a notarized statement from the physician that performed the complete surgery. The statement must be on the official letterhead of the hospital or clinic, and must declare that the “complete” surgery was performed and state the correct sex of the patient. The statement must also include the date and place of birth of the patient. Once I receive this document, I will send you an affidavit to be signed in the presence of a notary public. You would then return the signed affidavit, along with the $30.00 fee and a photocopy of your picture ID. If there is also a legal name change involved, you would have to send us a certified copy of the court order for the legal name change.
Office open to public: Monday through Friday
12:30 PM to 4:00 PM
Recorded message 401-222-2811
State of RHODE ISLAND
Office of Vital Records
2 Capital Hill
There is a $20 fee for a certified copy of existing birth certificate and a $30 fee for a certified copy of new birth certificate showing a change of sex (as of 9/15/10).
State law requires you to change your name or address on department records within 10 days of your actual name or address change. When you change your name or address with the department, all of the vehicle and driver records that relate to you will be updated. Information on fees and forms to fill out to take with you to the local DMV office are here.
South Carolina Birth Certificate Change
South Carolina will NOT issue a new birth certificate. They will send a “card” that can be attached to the old birth certificate, indicating change of name and sex.
They require an original court order for the name change and a letter from the SRS surgeon. The fee is $39.00.
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Dept. of Health and Environmental Control
J. Marion Sims Building
2500 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898 – 3630
Mr. Murray B. Hudson, M.P.H.
Assistant State Registrar and Director
Office of Public Health Statistics and Information Systems
After a legal name change, you will have to show the examiner (at a DPS license station) a valid legal document that shows your name has changed. There will be a $6.00 duplicate fee for a corrected card.
South Dakota Birth Certificate Change
Contact: Vonda Abbott, Secretary, Office of Data, Statistics, and Vital Records
South Dakota Dept. of Health
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2536
phone: (605) 773-4961, fax: (605) 773-5683
According to ARSD 44:09:05:02 any amendment of a surname, first and middle name when affidavit already has been filed or any information on a deceased persons vital record requires an order from a court of competent jurisdiction. When such an order has been obtained, please send a certified copy of it to this office. The following are the requirements regarding a court order name change.
1. The court order must order the South Dakota Department of Health or Vital Statistics to prepare the birth record to reflect the change.
2. There must be enough information in the court order to identify the birth record as it is now such as: Name on the birth record, date of birth, mother’s maiden name
3. The court order must list the incorrect data as it is listed on the record. Name, Gender
4. The court order must have the correct data, as it should appear. Name, Gender
5. The court order must be certified.
If you are a member of a tribe: (If applicable) If the court order does not state parent or child is a member of a tribe, the following is the requirement:
The Attorney General’s Office has advised that tribal court orders for name changes are acceptable if the tribal court has jurisdiction. Tribal membership will determine jurisdiction in these cases.
* A notarized document that proves membership of parent or child to a tribe.
You may want to seek legal counsel: the following is the State Bar of South Dakota attorney referral number 1-800-952-2333. The fee to prepare the birth record is $8.00 for the amendment. In addition, if you wish to obtain a certified copy of the birth certificate you must complete the SD application form wiht the statutory fee of $10.00. If you have previously purchased a certified copy of the birth certificate we will exchange for no additional charge, but you must complete the application form for all orders.
After any legal change in gender and or name, you may obtain a duplicate, by making an application in person at any driver service center. You must provide:
- Confirmation of proof of identity and
- Documentation of changes (other than those needed to correct clerical errors) in a license, temporary license or certificate for driving holder’s name, date of birth, or gender.
See http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/driverlicense/dlduplicate.htm for more information on what is accepted as proof of change(s) and identity needed.
Tennessee Birth Certificate Change
Tennessee will NOT change the sex designation on the birth certificate.
Tennessee will issue an amended birth certificate with the old name visibly struck over and the new name typed above it. You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
To change the gender marker, requires the applicant show court records or an amended birth certificate.
After a legal name change, you are required to notify the DPS within 30 days. A fee of $10 is required. In order to change your name, you must apply at any Texas Driver License office and present your marriage certificate/license or court order to initiate the change. No name will be used that has not been previously documented.
Texas Birth Certificate Change
and open Form VS-2318.1A.
Print it out and fill it out.
The fees to file an amendment to a birth certificate are $15.00. The cost of a certified copy of the birth certificate is $22.00 for each certificate. The fees were raised in December of 2005. There are two styles of the birth certificate, a short form or abstract and a long form. The short form is printed from the computer system and will only show the new name, date of birth, place of birth, sex, and parent’s names. The long form is a photocopy of the original birth record filed with our office at the time of birth onto our certified paper that will show the amendment underneath. On the long form you will be able to see the old information and the new information and how it was changed. It is up to you which style of birth certificate you want. We will automatically issue the short form or abstract unless you specifically request the long form.
Along with your Application and fees you will need to submit a certified copy of the court order granting the name and gender change. The court order must have the original stamp or seal and signature of the clerk of the court. We can accept court orders from any state within the US. The court order does not have to come from a Texas Court if you do not live in the state of Texas.
We do not need a copy of the SRS letter or a photocopy of your driver’s license because the court will have verified all the information.
If you send us the Application, correct fees, and CERTIFIED COPY of the court order, your request will NOT be denied. The Vital Statistics Office in Austin, Texas is the only office that has the authority to make any changes or corrections to a birth certificate for a person born in the state of Texas.
The normal processing time for requests sent by regular mail is 6-8 weeks. Send your money, court order and application to: Vital Statistics Unit MC 2096, Tx Dept of State Health Services, PO Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347.
If you would like expedited services an additional fee of $13.00 is required. $5.00 expedite fee and $8.00 for our office to overnight the birth certificate to your address once the birth certificate is amended. Please use an overnight service such as Fed-Ex, UPS, DHL, ect… Do NOT use the Post Office. They do not hand deliver the package to our office and your request will only be delayed because it will come to our office as regular mail. If you use our expedite service, send your money, court order and application to: Vital Statistics Unit MC 2096, Tx Dept of State Health Services, 1100 W. 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756. The processing time for the expedite service is 10-15 business days.
You can make one check or money order out for the total fees. One check or money order of $37.00 for the amendment filing fee and one certified copy of the birth certificate OR $50.00 for the amendment filing fee, one certified copy of the birth certificate and the expedited fees.
Before going to the local DMV office to change the name on your DL/ID card, it is recommended that you update Social Security records first. The current fee for a duplicate card is $18.
Utah Birth Certificate Change
Utah will issue an amended certificate, changing both name and sex, and the certificate will not reveal which items were changed.
You will need original or certified copy of a court order for your name change and a court order for your change of sex designation. These court orders can be from any U.S. State or from Canada.
Mr. Barry E. Nangle
Bureau of Vital Records
To change the gender marker, requires a letter from a physician stating the genital realignment surgery has been performed, along with and the date of completion. Alternatively, a statement from a physician, psychologist, or psychiatrist stating the applicant is irrevocably committed to the gender change and one gender predominates over the other.
Vermont Birth Certificate Change
Vermont will issue an amended certificate, changing both name and sex.
You will need original or certified copy of a court order for your name change and a court order for your change of sex designation. The court will probably require documentation from your SRS surgeon.
VA has two policies, one for Transition and one for Permanent gender change.
Requirements for Transitional Gender Change include: submitting a letter pertaining to pending surgery signed by the attending physician, a court order “authorizing change of gender”, and a medical report indicating that you are in active treatment. The requirements for Permanent Gender Change include: submitting an original or certified copy of an amended birth certificate and either a court order specifying that the sex of the individual has changed or a physician certification that surgery has been completed.
This state should change your DL/ID card information by presenting a certified copy of your name change court order, and paying a $10 fee for a new card.
Virginia Birth Certificate Change
12 VAC. 5-550-320. Change of Sex.
Except as provided in 12VAC 5-550-450-C upon presentation of acceptable evidence (preoperative diagnosis, postoperative diagnosis and description of procedure), and a notarized affidavit from the physician performing the surgery, a new certificate of birth may be prepared by the State Registrar for a person born in this Commonwealth whose sex has been changed by surgical gender reassignment procedure. A certified copy of the court order changing the name of the registrant as well as designating the sex of the registrant must be in the possession of the State Registrar together with a request that a new certificate be prepared.
To change the gender marker, requires either a letter from the applicant’s physician or licensed mental health care provider, with the status of their treatment. Or a dated letter of intent with the details of ones transition.
In order to change your name on your driver’s license or identification card, requires a certified copy of any court order related to your name change. You must also update your name on your vehicle title. Changing your name on the title will also change your name on the registration. The fee is $9 for each replaced vehicle title, and $10 to replace the old driver’s license or ID card.
Washington Birth Certificate Change
Washington State will issue a new birth certificate for name and/or gender changes
(after SRS has been completed).
Here’s what they need:
(1) A letter signed by the doctor performing the surgery (on his letterhead)
which is also witnessed by a Notary Public stating that the surgery has
(2) A certified copy of the Name Change Order
(3) Birth info: parents names, date and place of birth; original birth
name (we can probably just send a copy of the birth certificate)
(4) Address where they should send the new birth certificate (takes 2 to 3 weeks to process)
(5) $20 check or money order for the fee — to Department of Health.
Mail all to Kathy Devine at the Department of Health,
Attn: Legal Name Change,
P. O. Box 9709, Olympia, WA
Any change of gender requires a court order specifically indicating that the gender change is complete.
After a legal name change, the driver’s license or identification card holder may need to renew his/her card.
To renew a driver’s license you must present 1 identity document, along with proof of WV residency. If your license is expired for more than 6 months you are required to retest, written and road skills examination, along with providing all documents as a first time applicant. If your social security number is not in the system, or is wrong in the system you will be required to provide your social security card, before a new license will be issued. An applicant who is not a citizen of the United States shall present all documents required by the Division to verify his or her legal status in the United states, proof of identity, and proof of residency in this state.
See here for information on the current fee schedule.
West Virginia Birth Certificate Change
West Virginia will change both name and sex, and will issue an amended birth certificate with the old name struck over and the new name and sex typed in the margin.
You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change, and an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
WI is ambiguous on requirements to change the marker. An affidavit or statement from a medical doctor or director of a facility specializing in gender change providing the customer is enrolled in a program may suffice. However, a court order or physicians report may be required.
If you have legally changed your name, you will need to change your name with the Social Security Administration Office before coming to a DMV Service Center. When you come to a Service Center to change your name on your Driver License or Identification Card, you will be required to show proof of your name change. The following are acceptable documents to show proof of your name change:
- Certified record of marriage/divorce
- Certified court order
The current fee for a duplicate card is $14 for a driver’s license and $16 for an identification card.
Wisconsin Birth Certificate Change
Wisconsin will change name and sex on the birth certificate. You will need a certified copy of your Court Order for Name Change as well as a certified copy of a Court Order for change of gender (two separate court orders). You will need a signed, dated, notarized letter from your surgeon confirming the date of the procedure. The surgeon should include your name, date of birth, date of surgery, type of surgery (male-to-female), and where it was performed. Finally, you will need your original birth certificate or a certified copy.
Special Records Lead Worker
Vital Records Section
Bureau of Health Information & Policy
Division of Public Health
1 West Wilson Street, Room 158
Madison WI 53702
To change the gender on a driver’s license or identification card, you must present a medical statement from a physician indicating that you have completed the surgery necessary to effect a gender change. Applicants who present an out-of-state driver’s license or identification card must:
- If previously issued a Wyoming driver’s license or ID card, and the sex designation on the out-of-state license/ID is different from what is on the system, applicants are required to present documentation of the gender change.
- If never issued a Wyoming driver’s license or ID card, applicants will be issued as per the information contained on the out-of-state license/ID card.
After a legal name change, DSP must be notified within ten days of any change of name or address. You must appear in person at any Wyoming examination station and present legal proof of name change. A new license will be issued and a new driver’s license will be mailed to you.
Wyoming Birth Certificate Change
Wyoming will issue an amended certificate. The certificate will specify the birth name and the birth gender, unless you can obtain a court order mandating a new certificate be created.
To change the gender marker, D.C. requires the applicant and a “medical or social service authority” to fill out a “Gender Designation Form.” The “Medical or social service authority” part of the Form can be completed by a physician, licensed therapist, counselor, case worker or social worker, but the list is not exhaustive: authorities can also check “other.”
In order to change your name on your driver’s license or identification card, requires you to bring your current driver license or non-driver identification card and social security card or Social Security Administration printout (reflecting the correct spelling of your name) along with one of the following original documents:
- Official US Court Change of Name document
- Birth Certificate
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Employment Authorization Card
- Permanent Resident Card
This information may be presented at any DMV customer service location.
District of Columbia Birth Certificate Change
The District of Columbia will NOT issue a new birth certificate, but will amend the original birth certificate upon receipt of certified copies of the court order for name change and the letter from the surgeon who performed SRS.
Mr. Carl W. Wilson, M.P.H.
Registrar and Director
DC State Center for Health Statistics